wrap up

February Wrap Up

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all about the books that I read in the month of February. Please leave me a comment down below letting me now what you read in the month. Hope you have a great day! 

IMG_3157

The Book of Essie 

4 stars 

51L9u20bC7L._SX348_BO1,204,203,200_

We Should All Be Feminists 

4 stars 

IMG_3156

Beneath the Sugar Sky 

4 stars 

IMG_3155

Queen of the Tearling 

3 stars 

IMG_3154

On the Come Up

4 stars 

IMG_3153

The Night Olivia Fell 

4 stars 

IMG_3151

Prodigy: Graphic Novel 

2 stars 

IMG_3152

March Vol 3 

5 stars

81VcRVeUX0L

Book Love 

5 stars

IMG_3149

The Perks of Being a Wallflower 

5 stars

IMG_3150

She Rides Shot Gun 

3 stars

IMG_3147

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing 

4 stars

IMG_3148

The Tea Dragon’s Society 

4 stars 

Tags

Classics Book Tag

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all about the Classics Book Tag. This tag was originally created by  It’s A Books World. Please leave me a comment don below letting me know what your answers are to these questions. Hope you have a great day. 

1. An overhyped classic you really didn’t like

9780399506437

An overhyped classic that I didn’t like was Lord of the Flies. 

2. Favorite time period to read about 

My favourite period to read about is the 1900’s. 

3. Favorite fairy-tale 

IMG_3139

My favourite fairy tale is Beauty and the Beast. 

4. What is the most embarrassed classic you haven’t read yet?

IMG_3140

The most embarrassed classic that I haven’t read yet is Pride and Prejudice. 

5. Top 5 classics you would like to read (soon)

IMG_3142

Winnie the Pooh 

IMG_3143

The Magicians Nephew 

IMG_3144

The BFG

 Image result for a christmas carol by charles dickens

A Christmas Carol 

IMG_3141

I Capture the Castle 

6. Favorite modern book/series based on a classic 

IMG_3145

My favourite modern book/series based on a classic is Heartless by Marissa Myer. It is a retelling of Alice in Wonderland. 

7. Favourite movie version/tv-series based on a classic

movie

My favourite movie version based on a classic is the 1994 adaption of Little Women. 

8. Worst classic to movie adaptation

I don’t have an answer of this question. I can’t think of any. 

9. Favourite edition(s) you’d like to collect more classics from 

IMG_3137

My favourite editions I’d like to collect more editions from are the Mina Lima editions. 

10. An underhyped classic you’d recommend to everyone 

IMG_3146.jpeg

An under hyped classic that I’d recommend to everyone is The Secret Garden because I don’t hear a lot of people talking about the book. 

favourite, quotes

Favourite Quotes from The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Hello lovelies. How are you? Today’s blog post is all about my favourite quotes from The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. This book is one of my favourite books of all time and wanted to highlight the quotes that made me feel all of the feels. Please leave me a comment down below letting me know what your favourite quotes are from the Perks of Being a Wallflower. 

IMG_3071

“We accept the love we think we deserve.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“He’s a wallflower. You see things. You keep quiet about them. And you understand.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“I am both happy and sad at the same time, and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“It was the kind of kiss that made

me know that I was never so happy in my whole life.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“I just hope I remember to tell my kids that they are as happy as I look in my old photographs. And I hope that they believe me.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“And I thought that all those little kids are going to grow up someday. And all of those little kids are going to do the things that we do. And they will all kiss someone someday. But for now, sledding is enough. I think it would be great if sledding were always enough, but it isn’t.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“I don’t know if it’s better to be close with your daughter or make sure that she has a better life than you do.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“Things change, friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“And I guess I realized at that moment that I really did love her. Because there was nothing to gain, and that didn’t matter.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

unboxing

February OwlCrate Unboxing

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all about this month’s OwlCrate unboxing. OwlCrate is a monthly subscription box that has one young adult hardcover book that is usually signed and has an exclusive cover with also 3 to 5 bookish items. I love OwlCrate. If you have not subscribed to OwlCrate please do so. They are an amazing box subscription box.  This month’s theme is Whimsical Beats. Please leave a comment down below letting me now what your favourite item from this month’s box was. Have a great day. 

The first item I see in this box is the spoiler card. I love the art work of this spoiler card and the colours of it. I think it fits the theme perfectly. I will not be looking at the back of the card until I am done opening up everything because I don’t want to be spoiled. 

IMG_3115

Next is an exclusive beanie. This item was inspired by Harry Potter and designed by Team OwlCrate and Michelle Gray. I love the shade of purple they picked and that it says “Accio Books”. I will absolutely be wearing this. 

Another item is a travel umbrella. This team was created by Anne Lambelet. This umbrella was inspired by Harry Potter and has illustrations of all of our favourite creatures and beasts from the series. This is such a gorgeous and unique item. 

IMG_3122

Next is a keychain inspired by Spirited Away and it was designed by Four Seasons Fox. I love keychains and I can’t wait to add this to my collection. 

IMG_3118

A bar of soap is the next item I see. This is a pixie dust gem soap inspired by Peter Pan. This item was created by Leeloo Soaps. I can’t wait to use this. 

IMG_3121

Next is this beautiful enamel pin. It is inspired by the book of the month and was created by Ink and Wonder Designs. I can’t wait to add this to my pin collection.

IMG_3123

The final item before the book is actually an extra book. This is The Tea Dragon Society by Katie O’Neil and it is an exclusive edition by Oni Press. I have heard nothing but good things about this graphic novel. 

This month’s book is Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Preto. This story is about survival, war, phoenix riders and the bonds of sisterhood. This edition is an OwlCrate exclusive and it also has sprayed edges (gorgeous! Am I right?). This book also comes signed by the author. 

We also get a letter from the author, a map and an exclusive feather bookmark. 

This month’s pamphlet has the same artwork as the spoiler card. Inside you get an interview with the author, word search, interview this Anne Lambelet, this month’s photo challenge and a look at next month’s theme. 

Next month’s theme is Murder and Mayhem and next month we will be getting an exclusive travel mug from Catarina Book Design. 

quotes

Favourite Book Quotes on Growing Up

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all abut my favourite quotes about growing up. Please leave me a comment down below letting me know what your favourite quotes are about growing up. 

IMG_3069

“When we are children we seldom think of the future. This innocence leaves us free to enjoy ourselves as few adults can. The day we fret about the future is the day we leave our childhood behind.” 

― Patrick Rothfuss, The Name of the Wind

IMG_3071

“I walked over to the hill where we used to go and sled. There were a lot of little kids there. I watched them flying. Doing jumps and having races. And I thought that all those little kids are going to grow up someday. And all of those little kids are going to do the things that we do. And they will all kiss someone someday. But for now, sledding is enough. I think it would be great if sledding were always enough, but it isn’t.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

IMG_3070

“I am convinced that most people do not grow up…We marry and dare to have children and call that growing up. I think what we do is mostly grow old. We carry accumulation of years in our bodies, and on our faces, but generally our real selves, the children inside, are innocent and shy as magnolias.” 

― Maya Angelou, Letter to My Daughter

IMG_3068

“I think she is growing up, and so begins to dream dreams, and have hopes and fears and fidgets, without knowing why or being able to explain them.” 

― Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

12294652

“The right thing to do is so easy to see when you’re seventeen years old and don’t have to make any big decisions. When you know that no matter what you do, someone will take care of you and fix everything. But when you’re grown up, the world is not that black and white, and the right thing doesn’t a tidy little arrow pointing to it.” 

― Huntley Fitzpatrick, My Life Next Door

51xIDVcqmqL._SX273_BO1,204,203,200_

“I never grew up all at once. I did it one place and another along the way.” 

― Stephen King, The Gunslinger

review

The Night Olivia Fell Spoiler Free Review

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all about my thoughts and opinions on the newly released novel The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald. Please leave me a comment down below letting me know if you have read or are planning on reading this book. Hope you have a great day. 

IMG_3065.jpeg

Average Rating – 4.2 stars  

Genre – Thriller 

Format – paperback 

Length – 368 pages 

 

Synopsis (Goodreads) 

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

 

Thoughts 

Pros 

  • Compelling. 
  • Great pacing to the story. 
  • I liked how it was a duel P.O.Vs 
  • It is beautifully written.
  • The soul of the novel is a mother and daughter relationship and I loved that aspect. I felt like it was raw and real. 
  • Loved the character development of Abi (the mother) at the end of the book she was string and determined. 
  • It is a debut novel and I can’t wait to read more from Christina McDonald. 

Cons 

  • I was very disappointed at the ending. I expected more. 

 

Rating 

Plot – 4 stars 

Characters – 5 stars 

Writing – 5 stars 

Pacing – 5 stars 

Cover – 4 stars 

Enjoyment – 4 stars 

Overall – 4 stars 

I would absolutely recommend this book!!