Tags

Rapid Fire Book Tag

Hello lovelies today’s blog post is the rapid fire book tag. This tag was created by GirlReading. The tag is all about answering questions at lighting speed, so I will not be going explanations on why I pick my choices. Hope you have a great day.

1. E-Book or Physical Book? 

Physical book. 

2. Paperback or Hardback?

Paperback. 

2. Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

Online book shopping. 

3. Trilogies or Series?

Trilogies 

4.Heroes or Villains?

Villains. 

5. A book you want everyone to read?

IMG_1287

I am the Messenger by Marcus Zusack. 

6. Recommend an underrated book?

IMG_1454

The Boston Girl by Anita Diamant. 

7. The last book you finished?

IMG_1588

Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Sam Van Leer. 

8. The Last Book You Bought? 

IMG_1628

The Husband Hour by Jamie Brenner 

9. Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

A receipt 

10. Used Books: Yes or No?

Yes. 

11. Top Three Favourite Genres?

Fantasy 

Thriller

Romance 

12. Borrow or Buy?

Buy. 

13. Characters or Plot?

Characters. 

14. Long or Short Books?

Long books.

15. Long or Short Chapters?

Short Chapters. 

16. Name The First Three Books You Think Of…

IMG_1086

Anne of Green Gables 

IMG_1067

The Lovely Hearts Hotel 

IMG_1284

A Monster Calls 

17. Books That Makes You Laugh or Cry?

Cry. 

18. Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Fictional Worlds 

19. Audiobooks: Yes or No?

Yes

20. Do You Ever Judge a Book by its Cover?

Yes. 

21. Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations? 

Book to T.V. Adaptions 

22. A Movie or TV-Show You Preferred to its Book?

IMG_1459

The Body by Stephen King 

23. Series or Standalone’s? 

Series 

review

Sleeping Giants Review

Hello lovelies. How are you? Today’s blog post is my review for the novel Sleeping Giants.  Please leave me a comment down below letting me know if you have read this book and if so what were your thoughts. Have a great day.

25733990

Average Rating – 3.84 stars 

Genre – Science Fiction

Format – Audiobook

Narrator – Various narrators 

Lengths – 8 hours and 29 minutes 

 

Synopsis (GoodReads)

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

 

Thoughts

Pros 

  • Was such a fun ride.
  • Reminded me of an adult version of the movie the Iron Giant.  
  • Told in interviews and journal entries. 
  • Loved how there were various narrators. 
  • Enjoyed the banter between the characters. 
  • Loved the political intrigued.
  • Kept me engaged the whole time. 

Cons 

  • Felt like I didn’t connect with the characters because you only get snippets of their story at a time throughout this novel. 

 

Rating 

Plot – 5 stars 

Characters – 4 stars 

Writing – 4 stars 

Pacing – 4 stars 

Narrator – 5 stars 

Enjoyment – 4 stars 

Overall – 4 stars 

 

I would recommend this book!

 

“Stories are there to entertain, preserve history, or serve a societal purpose of some kind.”
Sylvain Neuvel, Sleeping Giants

favourite

Favourite Dedications

Hello lovelies. How are you? Today’s blog post is all about my five favourite dedications in books. I love looking at dedications in books, it’s nice to see who motivated and encouraged the authors. Hope you have a great day. 

Neil Gaiman, ‘Anansi Boys’

You know how it is. You pick up a book, flip to the dedication, and find that, once again, the author has dedicated a book to someone else and not to you.

Not this time.

Because we haven’t yet met/have only a glancing acquaintance/are just crazy about each other/haven’t seen each other in much too long/are in some way related/will never meet, but will, I trust, despite that, always think fondly of each other….

This one’s for you.

With you know what, and you probably know why.

C. S. Lewis, ‘The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe’

My dear Lucy,

I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again. You can then take it down from some upper shelf, dust it, and tell me what you think of it. I shall probably be too deaf to hear, and too old to understand a word you say, but I shall still be

your affectionate Godfather,

C. S. Lewis

 Nicola Yoon , The Sun is Also a Star

To my mom and dad, who taught me about dreams and how to catch them.

Kiera Cass, The Selection 

Hi, Dad! *waves*

Lemony Snicket, The Grim Grotto

For Beatrice – 

Dead women tell no tales.

Sad men write them down.

other

Mid Year Stats

Hello lovelies. How are you? Today’s blog post is all about the stats of my reading so far this year. As of July 7 2018 I have read 87 books. Please leave a comment down below letting me know some of your 2018 reading stats. Hope you have a great day!

Middle grade – 15

Young Adult – 33

Adult – 31

2018 new releases – 17  

Older releases – 69 

Women authors – 56 

Men authors – 30

ARCs – 8 

Non arcs – 78

New to me authors – 54 

Authors I’ve read before – 32

Contemporary – 26 

Science Fiction – 11

Fantasy – 29

Thriller and Mystery – 7 

Romance – 13 

1 star – 0

2 stars – 8 

3 stars – 28

4 stars – 28

5 stars – 26

other

Twenty-Five Facts About Me

Hello lovelies. How are you? Today’s blog post is about twenty-five facts about myself. Please leave me a comment down below letting me know a fun fact about yourself. Hope you have a great day. 

  1. I am 5 foor 1 inch.
  2. I am a Leo. 
  3. My favourite place in the world is the cottage. 
  4. I am terrified of clowns and heights. 
  5. My favourite fruit is watermelon. 
  6. I am the youngest of three siblings. 
  7. My favourite animal is a giraffe.
  8. My dream trips are to go to Amsterdam and New York City. 
  9. I can not snap my fingers. 
  10. I wear size 6 shoes.
  11. My favourite clothing store is Old Navy. 
  12. My favourite seasons are Autumn and Summer. 
  13. I have a cat named Aslan. 
  14. My favourite colour is turquoise. 
  15. One of my heroes is Bethany Hamilton. 
  16. I have four different editions of Little Women. 
  17. My favourite dessert is cherry cheese cake. 
  18. My favourite Disney movie is Beauty and the Beast. 
  19. My favourite author growing up was Judy Blume. 
  20. My birthstone is ruby. 
  21. I am obsessed with the television show I Love Lucy and the actress Lucile Ball. 
  22. I am a Hufflepuff. 
  23. I want to learn sign language. 
  24. I am passionate about mental health and that is the career field I want to pursue. 
  25. My celebrity crushes are Henry Cavill and Bradley James.