review

Sleeping Giants Review

Hello lovelies. How are you? Today’s blog post is my review for the novel Sleeping Giants.  Please leave me a comment down below letting me know if you have read this book and if so what were your thoughts. Have a great day.

25733990

Average Rating – 3.84 stars 

Genre – Science Fiction

Format – Audiobook

Narrator – Various narrators 

Lengths – 8 hours and 29 minutes 

 

Synopsis (GoodReads)

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

 

Thoughts

Pros 

  • Was such a fun ride.
  • Reminded me of an adult version of the movie the Iron Giant.  
  • Told in interviews and journal entries. 
  • Loved how there were various narrators. 
  • Enjoyed the banter between the characters. 
  • Loved the political intrigued.
  • Kept me engaged the whole time. 

Cons 

  • Felt like I didn’t connect with the characters because you only get snippets of their story at a time throughout this novel. 

 

Rating 

Plot – 5 stars 

Characters – 4 stars 

Writing – 4 stars 

Pacing – 4 stars 

Narrator – 5 stars 

Enjoyment – 4 stars 

Overall – 4 stars 

 

I would recommend this book!

 

“Stories are there to entertain, preserve history, or serve a societal purpose of some kind.”
Sylvain Neuvel, Sleeping Giants

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s