quotes

Favourite Book Quotes on Growing Up

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all abut my favourite quotes about growing up. Please leave me a comment down below letting me know what your favourite quotes are about growing up. 

IMG_3069

“When we are children we seldom think of the future. This innocence leaves us free to enjoy ourselves as few adults can. The day we fret about the future is the day we leave our childhood behind.” 

― Patrick Rothfuss, The Name of the Wind

IMG_3071

“I walked over to the hill where we used to go and sled. There were a lot of little kids there. I watched them flying. Doing jumps and having races. And I thought that all those little kids are going to grow up someday. And all of those little kids are going to do the things that we do. And they will all kiss someone someday. But for now, sledding is enough. I think it would be great if sledding were always enough, but it isn’t.” 

― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

IMG_3070

“I am convinced that most people do not grow up…We marry and dare to have children and call that growing up. I think what we do is mostly grow old. We carry accumulation of years in our bodies, and on our faces, but generally our real selves, the children inside, are innocent and shy as magnolias.” 

― Maya Angelou, Letter to My Daughter

IMG_3068

“I think she is growing up, and so begins to dream dreams, and have hopes and fears and fidgets, without knowing why or being able to explain them.” 

― Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

12294652

“The right thing to do is so easy to see when you’re seventeen years old and don’t have to make any big decisions. When you know that no matter what you do, someone will take care of you and fix everything. But when you’re grown up, the world is not that black and white, and the right thing doesn’t a tidy little arrow pointing to it.” 

― Huntley Fitzpatrick, My Life Next Door

51xIDVcqmqL._SX273_BO1,204,203,200_

“I never grew up all at once. I did it one place and another along the way.” 

― Stephen King, The Gunslinger

review

The Night Olivia Fell Spoiler Free Review

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all about my thoughts and opinions on the newly released novel The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald. Please leave me a comment down below letting me know if you have read or are planning on reading this book. Hope you have a great day. 

IMG_3065.jpeg

Average Rating – 4.2 stars  

Genre – Thriller 

Format – paperback 

Length – 368 pages 

 

Synopsis (Goodreads) 

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

 

Thoughts 

Pros 

  • Compelling. 
  • Great pacing to the story. 
  • I liked how it was a duel P.O.Vs 
  • It is beautifully written.
  • The soul of the novel is a mother and daughter relationship and I loved that aspect. I felt like it was raw and real. 
  • Loved the character development of Abi (the mother) at the end of the book she was string and determined. 
  • It is a debut novel and I can’t wait to read more from Christina McDonald. 

Cons 

  • I was very disappointed at the ending. I expected more. 

 

Rating 

Plot – 4 stars 

Characters – 5 stars 

Writing – 5 stars 

Pacing – 5 stars 

Cover – 4 stars 

Enjoyment – 4 stars 

Overall – 4 stars 

I would absolutely recommend this book!! 

audiobooks

Favourite Audiobooks

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all about my favourite audiobooks. To me a perfect audiobook has to do with the narrator. If the narrator is dong voices odd or I can’t stand their voice than the audiobook is done for me and then I would just read the physical book. All of these audiobooks have checked all of the boxes for me. Please leave me a comment down below letting med now what your favourite audiobooks are. Hope you have a great day! 

img_2975

Matilda 

Narrator(s): Kate Wislet 

Length: 4 hours 

img_2977

Themis Files Trilogy 

Narrator(s): Full ensemble cast 

Length: 8 hours , 9 hours and 8 hours 

img_2992

The Neighbours 

Narrator(s): Mary Jane Wells and Alex Wyndham 

Length: 8 hours 

img_2982

American Marriage 

Narrators: Sean Crisden and Eisa Davis

Length: 9 hours 

img_2981

Boston Girl 

Narrator(s): Linda Lavin 

Length: 7 hours 

other

Bullet Journal January Flip Through and February Set-Up

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all about a bullet journal flip through for January and see my February set up. Please leave me a comment down below if you bullet journal. Hope you have a great day.

IMG_3044

This is my January title page. I decided to go with a fireworks theme for New Years and I really liked how it turned out.

IMG_3039

Next is my TBR and Haul page. As you can see I did a pretty good job with keeping with my TBR except for one book which I think is pretty good since I am such a mood reader. My Haul is something that I am very happy with also because I read more books than I bought.

IMG_3040

My read page and my pages read page are the third and fourth pages of this layout. As you can see I had an awesome reading month in January. I read 14 books. I number all of my books in the order that I finished them in and give them a star rating beside them.  Pages read is where I mark the amount of pages I read each day to have a visual representation of my reading month. I read all of January except for one day.

IMG_3041

This is my February title page. Since it is the month of love I decided to do hearts. On the next page is my TBR. This is the page where I state the five books that are my priority to read.

IMG_3042

The next pages are my Haul and Read page. The haul page is where I will be writing down all of the books that I have acquired this month. The Read page is where I list all of the books that I read this month with their star rating.

IMG_3043

The last page in my Pages Read page. This page is where I will be graphing the amount of pages that I’d read each day in the month.

wrap up

January Wrap Up

Hello lovelies! How are you? Today’s blog post is all about al of the books that I read in the month of January. Please leave me a comment down below letting me know what books you have read in the month of January. Hope you have a great day. 

IMG_3028

March Vol 1 

5 stars 

IMG_3031

A Little Princess 

4 stars 

IMG_3024

The Name of The Wind 

4 stars 

IMG_3027

The Long Way to A Small Angry Planet 

3 stars 

IMG_3033

My Favourite Half-Night Stand 

4 stars 

IMG_3032

Kill the Queen 

3 stars 

IMG_3030

An  Anonymous Gril 

4 stars 

81ZqRK1p-WL

All the Light We Cannot See 

4 stars 

IMG_3025

March Vol 2 

5 stars 

16718083

The Redemption of Callie and Kayden 

4 stars 

IMG_3026

Letter to My Daughter 

4 stars 

IMG_3029

Watching You 

3 stars 

31948181

Down Among the Sticks and Bones

4 stars 

Image result for scythe by neal shusterman vk epub

Scythe 

4 stars